Arkansas AFL-CIO Endorses Candidates, Issues

Logo of AFL-CIOThe Arkansas federation of the American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations (AFL-CIO) has announced after research and deliberation its endorsements in races of the November 2018 general election.

As one of the state AFL-CIO’s 190-plus local unions, labor councils and subordinate bodies, AFSCME Local 965 concurs. Arkansas workers should consider these recommendations as well as conduct their own study of candidates and policies before heading to the polls. We want all to vote!

The election is Tuesday, Nov. 6, early voting begins Oct. 22 and registration for new voters ends Oct. 9. Arkansas citizens should review those details.

As Arkansas 965 covers nine northwest and north central counties plus some employees of the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences in Little Rock, all the recommended candidates and issues are listed.

U.S. House

  • Chintan Desai — 1st Congressional District
  • Clarke Tucker — 2nd Congressional District
  • Joshua Mahony — 3rd Congressional District
  • Hayden Shamel — 4th Congressional District

State Constitutional Offices

  • Jared Henderson — Governor
  • Anthony Bland — Lieutenant Governor
  • Mike Lee — Attorney General
  • Susan Inman — Secretary of State

Legislatively Referred Constitutional Amendments

  • Issue 1 — Tort Law — AFL-CIO position — Oppose
  • Issue 2: Voter ID — No Position

Citizen Initiated Constitutional Amendments

  1. State Legislative Term Limits — AFL-CIO position — Oppose
  2. Casino Initiative Amendment — Support

Citizen Initiated State Statute

  • Minimum Wage Increase Initiative — AFL-CIO position — Support

State Senate

  • Jon Comstock — 3rd Senate District
  • Rep. Greg Leding — 4th District
  • Jim Wallace — 5th District
  • Sen. Bill Sample — 14th District
  • Melissa Fults — 33rd District
  • Maureen Skinner — 35th District

State House

  • Rep. Vivian Flowers — 17th House District
  • Alan Hughes — 26th District
  • Dustin Parsons — 28th District
  • Rep. Fred Allen — 30th District
  • Randy Haun — 31st District
  • Jess Mallett — 32nd District
  • Andrew Collins — 35th District
  • Chase Mangiapane — 38th District
  • Monica Ball — 39th District
  • Jonathan Crossley — 41st District
  • Rep. Michael John Gray — 47th Distict
  • Michael Roetzel — 65th District
  • Luke Pruitt — 77th District
  • Jay Richardson — 78th District
  • Lou Reed Sharp — 80th District
  • Donald McKinney — 81st District
  • Denise Garner — 84th District
  • Nicole Clowney — 86th District
  • Kelly Scott Unger — 87th District
  • Megan Godfrey — 89th District
  • Kati McFarlane — 90th District
  • Chris Birch — 92nd District
  • Gayatri Agnew — 93rd District
  • Jene Huffman Gilreath — 94th District
  • Celeste Williams — 95th District
  • Christie Craig — 96th District
  • Gary Morris — 97th District

The Arkansas AFL-CIO was chartered in 1956. It was the first in the nation to merge the AFL and CIO into one state central body, according to its website. The state federation represents more than 30,000 working people in diverse occupations. The national AFL-CIO’s member unions total more than 11 million working women and men.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.