Local Elects Officers, Board, Trustees

Bret Schulte
Bret Schulte

At its March 26, 2018, meeting, a quorum of Local 965, American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees, chose Bret Schulte as president, succeeding Betty Martin.

Other officers elected, unanimously as a slate, were Mike Pierce as vice president, Steve Boss as secretary-treasurer and Kelly Hammond as recording secretary.

Board positions are being filled by George Martin, Cyndi Nance and Bruce McNully, who had been secretary-treasurer.

Incoming trustees are Martin, Ted Swedenburg and Ben Pollock, who also will serve as communication director.

Schulte on Monday was chosen to immediately succeed Dan Sims as vice president as an interim position. Schulte will assume the presidency later in the spring.

Local 965 is based in Fayetteville, Arkansas, and its members are public employees in Northwest Arkansas or work in the University of Arkansas System.